Skip to content

Aug 27, 2008 / news

Hopwood, Burrows Lead Compass360’s Hot Streak to Jersey

Millville, NJ (26 August, 2008)—With wins in two of the last three races, 2007 KONI Challenge Champions Adam Burrows and Trevor Hopwood are the hottest drivers in KONI competition as the series gathers once again this weekend for round 8 of the 2008 championship season at a new venue in the Thunderbolt Raceway at New Jersey Motorsports Park.

Burrows and Hopwood, who doubled up their win tally on the season with a fantastic run to the checkered flag at Trois Rivieres a fortnight ago, will look to add their names to the history book with another strong run to the podium in the No. 76 Fischer Skis Compass360 Racing Acura TSX on Saturday in the first professional race at the freshly built 2.25-mile 14-turn New Jersey Motorsports Park facility.
“This track is going to be new for everyone, and that gives us even more confidence because we know that Compass will have the Fischer Skis Acura TSX all sorted, and we both have a lot of experience learning new tracks quickly, so this should be another good weekend for us,” said Hopwood. “We switched it up for Trois Rivieres with me qualifying and Adam finishing the race and that obviously worked out well, so we will see what strategy Ray Lee has us on this weekend.”
“There are going to be nearly 70 cars on this track, which isn’t that big, so being smart and patient with the mixed class event is going to be really important,” said Burrows. “Winning races was a big goal for us and now we have the taste for it, we’re pretty hungry to do it again! The Compass360 guys have done an awesome job with the car and we’d like to take as many championship points as we can from the weekend. We know we have a lot of ground to make up, but there is a lot of racing yet to go this season, so we’re going to try to make the most of this weekend.”
A promoter test day will open the weekend on Thursday, with Friday practice preceding Saturday’s qualifying session. Sunday is scheduled for an early 8:45 AM race start.